New England Model Horse Collectors
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
New England Model Horse Collectors

An online forum for New England model horse collectors.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Kate Dwyer , S. Hamilton, MA

Go down 
+2
shastaharley
KDwyer
6 posters
AuthorMessage
KDwyer

Kate Dwyer ,  S. Hamilton,  MA Empty
PostSubject: Kate Dwyer , S. Hamilton, MA   Kate Dwyer ,  S. Hamilton,  MA EmptyMon Jan 04, 2010 3:43 pm

Hello and Happy New Year to all my fellow model horse enthusiasts! I am looking forward to another great year of friends, fun and outstanding Live Show competition!
I have been showing model horses since the late 1970's - when I would cram all my models into a brown paper bags, tie them to the handles of my bannana seat bicycle, and pedal across town to my friend's kitchen floor where a gang of us "horse girls" would canter them around in flat classes and over fences (usually upturned paperback books...) to compete for hand made paper ribbons! I found the growing hobby in the mid 1980's from an ad for The Model Horse Gazette in the back of a real horse magazine. I attended some of the first Live Shows in the future NAMHSA Region X, when they were small enough to be held in someone's living room, Western Performance Championships could be won with a handpainted Breyer plastic saddle, and Overall Champion ribbons were three feet long... I showed off and on through 1998, and then took a break untill about 2003. Now, wild horses couldn't drag me away from the hobby, the people and the enjoyment I get in participating!